Search I95 Business Magazine




Athena Leadership Award 2017

February 2017


The ATHENA Leadership Award Breakfast will be held March 3 at the Richlin Ballroom in Edgewood. Harford County is one of only three communities in the state of Maryland to host the event.

“Honoring Harford County leaders who have achieved professional excellence and championed community engagement and women’s leadership development is a privilege for the Harford Community College Foundation” says Denise Dregier, Director. “This year we are proud to begin a new phase with the presentation of the ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award given to an emerging leader under the age of 40.”

Proceeds from the event benefit the ATHENA Leadership Scholarship, which will be awarded to a deserving Harford Community College student and will additionally support the College’s student success initiatives.

The breakfast keynote speaker will be Suzanne Fischer-Huettner, award winning Group Publisher for BridgeTower Media. Suzanne began her newspaper career as a classified salesperson at The Daily Record and worked her way to publisher in 2010. In her current role, she provides leadership for three publications – The Daily Record MD, The Daily Record NY and the Rochester Business Journal. During her tenure, she has guided her team through an ever-changing industry and successfully continues to meet the demands of both print and digital readers.

The presenting sponsor is The Daily Record. Platinum Sponsors: Harford Mutual Insurance Companies and Harford Community College. Silver Sponsors: Bravura Information Technology Systems, Inc., Chesapeake Professional Women’s Network and Harford Bank. Bronze Sponsors: 1st Mariner Bank, Sengestacke & Evans, LLC, University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health, APG Federal Credit Union, Association of the United States Army, The Arc Northern Chesapeake Region, Harford County Chamber of Commerce and MediaWise, Inc. Media Sponsors: Harford Cable Network and I95 BUSINESS. Sponsor listing is as of the publication release date.

For event information and to purchase tickets go to or call 443-412-2449. I95


Suzanne Fischer-Huettner
Group Publisher
BridgeTower Media





2017 ATHENA Leadership Award Finalists



Crystal Barney
Senior Associate
Booz Allen Hamilton





Laura Musser
Enterprise Vice President, Marketing
MNS Group





June Poole
Vice President and Treasurer
Harford Mutual Insurance Companies





Kathy Walsh
Director of Marketing
Fallston Group




2017 ATHENA Young Professional Leadership Award Finalists



Paige Boyle
Director of Marketing
Boyle Buick GMC






Kara Davis
Booz Allen Hamilton






Sarah Karantonis
Director of Advancement
Upper Chesapeake Health Foundation






Meggin M’Gonigle–Reeder
Vice President – Senior Small Business Banker
Bank of America