Search I95 Business Magazine




14th Annual ATHENA Award Women’s Leadership Breakfast
March 6, 8-9:45am, The Richlin Ballroom

February 2015


KEYNOTE SPEAKER Susan Lawrence Senior Vice President Booz Allen Hamilton

Susan Lawrence
Senior Vice President
Booz Allen Hamilton

The 14th Annual ATHENA Award will be presented at the Professional Women’s Leadership Breakfast on March 6 at the Richlin Ballroom in Edgewood. Over 20 women were nominated for the award this year; seven were selected as finalists. The 2015 Recipient will be announced at the event. Since 1999, the ATHENA Award has been presented annually to an exceptional individual who meets the following criteria: has achieved excellence in her business or profession, serves the community in a meaningful way, and has assisted women in reaching their full leadership potential.

Once again, this year’s program is hosted by Harford Community College’s Continuing Education & Training division. “This is a great opportunity to recognize and celebrate leadership in Harford County,” says Rod Bourn, Coordinator of Professional Development at Harford Community College and facilitator of the ATHENA program for the last three years. “I’m always blown away by the electricity and esprit de corps among the finalists and throughout the audience at this event.”

Committee members include Marlene Lieb, Content McLaughlin, Tamera Rush, Debi Williams, Dr. Mary Teddy Wray, Denise Carnaggio, Carla Sparrow, Vicki Franz, and Linda Wilson and Pat Hogan from Harford Community College.

“It’s so important for young professional women to have strong women role models for mentoring and support,” says Marlene Lieb, Harford Community College. “The ATHENA is an international and prestigious award recognizing deserving women in the community who are dedicated to this mission. HCC’s ATHENA Women’s Leadership event is a testament to the importance of mentoring, community service, and career excellence for women.”


Terri Garland
Administrative Law Judge,
MD Office of Administrative Hearings

Stephanie Hau
President/CEO, Chesapeake Environmental Management, Inc

Sharon Jacobs
CEO, Strategic Alliances Group, Inc

Kathy Kage
Business and Account Manager,
Northrop Grumman Information Systems

Barbra Przybylski
Founder & Owner, Absolute Security & Investigative Services

Nancy Spence
Director, University Center

Melynda Velez
Founder & Executive Director,

The Keynote address will be given by Susan Lawrence, Senior Vice President at Booz Allen Hamilton and U.S. Army Lieutenant General (Ret.). She supports initiatives that cut across defense and security markets, including C4ISR, enterprise IT, joint information environments, cyber, integrated mission systems and emerging technologies. She has scores of command and staff assignments during her Army career. Her years in leadership roles will inspire women to reach the heights of their abilities.

Last year’s ATHENA Award recipient was Dr. Mary Teddy Wray, Laurel Bush Family Dentistry. As is customary, the preceding recipient selects a charitable cause for contributions. Dr. Wray has selected SARC, where she serves on the Board of Directors, and asks attendees to make donations of twin bed sheets, towels, diapers, baby lotion, baby shampoo, baby monitors and toiletries.

Prior ATHENA Recipients include Jayne Klein, Klein Shop-Rite (2013); Denise Carnaggio, Harford County Office of Economic Development (2102); Tamera Rush, STG Inc. (2011); Lucie Snodgrass: Office of Senator Barbara Mikulski (2010); and Content McLaughlin, McLaughlin Law Group (2009). I95

I95 BUSINESS is proud to be Media Sponsor. For ticket and sponsorship information, call 443-412-2173.

The award began in 1982 in Lansing, Michigan, and is now presented in hundreds of cities in countries throughout the world including the United States, Canada, Russia, China, India, the United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom. It was inspired by the goddess of Greek mythology known for her strength, courage, wisdom and enlightenment. The values underlying the ATHENA Foundation’s philosophy support incorporating the talent and expertise of women into the leadership of businesses, communities and government.