Search I95 Business Magazine




NMTC Visionary Awards

February 2014

February 27
Richlin Ballroom
Register for the Visionary Awards by February 14,


Dr. Nancy S. Grasmick



Gary Martin 
Acting Director, U.S. Army Communications-Electronics Command


On Feb. 27, NMTC (Northeastern Maryland Technology Council) will hold its Annual Meeting and Visionary Awards program at Richlin Ballroom in Edgewood, Md. This is the only regional event in Maryland that celebrates the individuals driving STEM Education and Technology Advancement in our communities. The accomplishments and impact of the recipients are far reaching, and their efforts are contributed on a voluntary basis.

NMTC is Maryland’s fastest growing technology association with over 200 regional members and supporters in the fields of technology, industry, academia, as well as defense contractors, the U.S. Army and government leaders. The focus on Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) has always been a core mission for NMTC. A “grow your own” employment philosophy is key to the future success of the region, and the members of NMTC are deeply invested. Their members contribute to growing STEM programs in area schools, and support the Science Café, which offers discussions and programs to students and the public, held at venues throughout the region.

The Visionary Awards Gala attracts 250 attendees, including senior APG leaders, NMTC industry leadership, leading educational institutions and other distinguished attendees. This year’s keynote speaker is Dr. Nancy S. Grasmick, the former Maryland State Superintendent of Schools and now, Director for the Center for Innovation and Leadership in Special Education at Kennedy Krieger Institute. She has served on the President’s Commission on Excellence in Special Education and received numerous awards, including the Harold W. McGraw Jr. Prize in Education and the College Board’s first President’s Award for K-12 Leadership. She is a visionary in Maryland’s in STEM education.

The Visionary of the Year award is the highlight of the evening and is given to the person who most exemplifies having the big picture on advancing technology opportunities in the region. This year’s recipient is Gary Martin. As the U.S. Army’s Acting Director, U.S. Army Communications-Electronics Command, Martin is deeply involved with all things on APG. His skill with communication and strategic planning has put him at the forefront of STEM education and technology development both on and off APG.

Additional awards recognize individuals who are involved in STEM education and technology advancement to benefit the community. Awards are given in the following categories: Rising Star Award given to individuals on the rise; Innovator Award for developing ideas that cause a change; Leader Awards for taking initiative and setting the pace for success; Mentor Awards for being an mentor and role model to students.

The event’s Gala sponsor is Harford Community College. Additional sponsors are Harford County Office of Economic Development, Cecil County Office of Economic Development, Towson University, Cecil College, Leidos, MD Dept. of Business and Economic Development, Flowers by Lucy and I95 BUSINESS. I95

2014 Visionary Awards Honorees


Suzanne Milchling
Director, U.S. Army Edgewood Chemical Biological Center

Frank Mezzanotte
Coordinator, Harford County Public Schools (former)


Dr. Pamela Lottero-Perdue
Associate Professor, Towson University

Jeannine Finton
LEAP Coordinator, Harford
County Public Library


Carmen Kifer
Chemical Engineer, U.S. Army Chemical Materials Agency

Dr. Ann Bizzano
Director Public Relations, American Physical Therapy Association of Maryland


Suzanne Procell
Chemist, U.S. Army Edgewood Chemical Biological Center

Anne Shade
Systems Engineer, Leidos

Dr. Robert Lieb
Research Physicist, U.S. Army Research Lab (retired)

Dr. William Prins
Chief Engineer, ATK Missile Products Division