Search I95 Business Magazine




NMTC Visionary Awards

February 2013
VISIONARY OF THE YEAR  Dr. Diane Lane Vice President of Student Services and Institutional Effectiveness, Cecil College

Dr. Diane Lane
Vice President of Student Services and Institutional
Effectiveness, Cecil College

On February 28, NMTC (Northeastern Maryland Technology Council) will hold its Annual Meeting and Visionary Awards program at Richlin Ballroom in Edgewood. This is the only regional event in Maryland that celebrates the individuals driving STEM Education and Technology Advancement in our communities. The accomplishments and impact of the recipients are far reaching, and their efforts are contributed on a voluntary basis.

NMTC is Maryland’s fastest growing technology association with over 200 regional members and supporters in the fields of technology, industry, academia, defense contractors and the Army, and government leaders. The focus on Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) has always been a core mission for NMTC. A “grow your own” employment philosophy is key to the future success of the region and the members of NMTC are deeply invested. Their members contribute to growing STEM programs in area schools, and support the Science Café, which offers lectures and programs to students and the public, held at venues throughout the region.

Aris Melissaratos Keynote Speaker

Aris Melissaratos
Keynote Speaker

The Visionary Awards Gala attracts 250 attendees, including senior APG leaders, NMTC industry leadership, leading educational institutions and other distinguished attendees. This year’s keynote speaker is Aris Melissaratos, a visionary in Maryland’s growth through technology and STEM education. Founder of The Aris Institute and Sr. Adviser for Technology Enterprise Development to the President of Johns Hopkins University, Aris served as Secretary of Business and Economic Development for the State of Maryland from 2003 to 2007. He is also the author of “The Key to Prosperity – Technology and America’s Role in the 21st Century Global Economy.”

The Visionary of the Year award is the highlight of the evening and is given to the person who most exemplifies having the big picture on advancing technology opportunities in the region. This year’s recipient, Dr. Diane Lane, is recognized for her years of collaborative efforts in higher education and the technology community. Her leadership has led to the establishment of STEM Nights in Cecil and Harford counties, which has introduced thousands of students and parents to careers in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.

Other awards are given to individuals who are involved in STEM Education and Technology Advancement to benefit the community. Awards are given in the following categories: Rising Star Award given to individuals on the rise; Innovator Award for developing ideas that cause a change; Leader Awards for taking initiative and setting the pace for success; and Mentor Awards for being an mentor and role model to students.

2013 Visionary Awards
Joseph Wienand
Edgewood Chemical
and Biological Center

Mary Doak
Edgewood Chemical and Biological Center, APG
Dr. Nina Lamba
CCL Biomedical and Initiator
of NMTC’s Science Café
Marty Healy
W.L. Gore

Kimberly Williams
Cecil Co. Public Schools,
Biomedical teacher, STEM Lead teacher

Dr. Dave Brown
MITRE and Johns Hopkins University professor
Dr. Sandra Young
Army Research Laboratory
and Harford Community College professor
Ted Welsh
SURVICE Engineering and Parent Volunteer, Harford
Co. Public Schools

The event’s Gala sponsor is Harford Community College; Sapphire sponsors are Harford County Office of Economic Development, Cecil County Office of Economic Development and SAIC. Media sponsor is I95 BUSINESS.

Register for the Visionary Awards by February 14, For more background on NMTC, read Editor Stacey Rebbert’s story in I95 BUSINESS, June 2012, page 16, available online at I95