Search I95 Business Magazine




12th Annual ATHENA AWARD Women’s Leadership Breakfast

February 2013

Harford Community College’s Continuing Education division is hosting the 12th Annual ATHENA Award, which will be presented at the Professional Women’s Leadership Breakfast on Friday, March 8, 2013, 8am, at the Richlin Ballroom in Edgewood. Since 1999, the ATHENA Award has been presented annually to a local, exceptional individual who has achieved excellence in her (or his) business or profession, has served the community in a meaningful way, and has assisted women in reaching their full leadership potential. By honoring exceptional leaders, the program seeks to inspire others to achieve excellence in their professional and personal lives.

The award, begun in 1982 in Lansing, Mich., is now presented in hundreds of cities in countries throughout the world including the United States, Canada, Russia, China, India, the United Arab Emirates and the United Kingdom. It was inspired by the goddess of Greek mythology known for her strength, courage, wisdom and enlightenment. The values underlying the ATHENA Foundation’s philosophy support incorporating the talent and expertise of women into the leadership of businesses, communities and government.

This year, over 25 women connected to Harford County were nominated for the award. From that, seven were selected as the finalists who will be on the dais at the event on March 8.

Upon hearing their selection, initial reaction of the finalists was categorically and consistently one of humility. “I am truly honored to be included with such a wonderful group!” says Mary Hastler, who has been director of the Harford County Public Library system since December, 2010. “I am also honored, but truly humbled, to be included with such amazing women,” concurs both Jayne Klein, a registered dietician with Klein’s ShopRite, and Patrice Ricciardi of Freedom Federal Credit Union.

Marlene Lieb, retired Assistant Vice President from the college’s Continuing Education and Training Division, was one of the people who initially helped bring ATHENA to the county. She notes, “When Harford Community College resurrected the ATHENA Award 12 years ago, Harford County embraced the event by recognizing the outstanding contributions women in our community make both professionally and personally. Congratulations to this year’s candidates whose names will be added to the ATHENA women of influence who have come before them.”

NOMINEESMary Ann Bogarty
PNC Bank

Mary Lynn Doak
Edgewood Chemical
Biological Center

Joyce Duffy
Harford Family House

Mary Hastler
Harford County Public Library

Jayne Klein
Klein’s ShopRite

Patrice Ricciardi
Freedom Federal Credit Union

Tami Zavislan
Community Foundation
of Harford County

Denise Carnaggio, last year’s ATHENA Award recipient, notes that “by focusing on so many of our women leaders’ accomplishments in Harford County, the ATHENA Award encourages mentorship of other women and young people, so they too can achieve and make a difference. Supporters of this legacy program are inspiring excellence in our community.”

The program will be emceed by WJZ’s Kristy Breslin, a Harford County resident. The keynote address will be given by Sheela Murthy, an immigration attorney and Principle of the Murthy Law Firm in Owings Mills. Murthy’s biography includes mention that it is her mission to “help people achieve their American Dream to live and work in this great country.”

This year’s platinum sponsor is the Small Business and Technology Development Center, located on the community college campus. Other key sponsors include Booz Allen Hamilton, Women in Defense, Boyle Buick, M&T Bank, the Chesapeake Professional Women’s Network, and PNC Bank. The media sponsor is I95 BUSINESS.

Recent Harford County ATHENA Award recipients include Denise Carnaggio, Harford County Office of Economic Development (2102); Tamera Rush, STG Inc. (2011); Lucie Snodgrass: Office of Senator Barbara Mikulski (2010); and Content McLaughlin, McLaughlin Law Group (2009).

Seating for the breakfast is limited. For ticket and sponsorship information, call 443-412-2173. I95